Chimney sweeps warn: Too few apartments in Münden are equipped with smoke detectors

  • Home
  • Female care
  • Chimney sweeps warn: Too few apartments in Münden are equipped with smoke detectors
Chimney sweeps warn: Too few apartments in Münden are equipped with smoke detectors
Images
  • By deutschewhiskybrenner
  • 533 Views

Smoke detectors have been mandatory for years. Nevertheless, many households in Lower Saxony do not have one installed. Also in Hann. Münden is similar, chimney sweeps report.

Hann.Münden – Smoke detectors in apartments have been mandatory in Lower Saxony since 2015. Nevertheless, according to the Lower Saxony state guild association of chimney sweeps, 26 percent of Lower Saxony households do not have smoke detectors. This was the result of a survey by the guild association in 2020. "The result of this survey can be traced back one to one to Hann. Münden,” says Jürgen Schäfer, district master chimney sweep for one of the three sweeping districts in the city of three rivers.

There are many landlords who take care of the installation and maintenance of smoke detectors, but some do not. Older people in particular are often more conscientious. Smoke detectors are particularly important in apartments in the center of Münden, because the dense development and fire loads, some of which are in attics or escape routes, can quickly lead to large fires.

Smoke alarms can prevent significant fire damage

Most people only realize how devastating not having one can be when a fire causes significant damage - or worse: people are injured. "In many cases, a smoke detector could have reduced the damage," says Schäfer. It is therefore no coincidence that the detectors have to be installed in children's rooms and bedrooms as well as in corridors and on escape routes.

In the event of a fire, especially at night, you often only have seconds to get outside due to the smoke. “Carbon monoxide is produced in a fire. Three breaths are enough for the body to become heavy.” The warning from the smoke detector increases the time it takes to escape, says Schäfer.

Tobias Schäfer, also district master chimney sweep for another sweeping district in Münden, experiences something similar: "Many people install smoke detectors, but often do it wrong." They would have to be installed in the middle of the room. There are also differences between the models. It is important to use standardized detectors that last around ten years without the battery having to be changed.

Owners have a duty

In Lower Saxony, about 13 percent of all households are adequately equipped with smoke detectors, 16 percent have installed them incorrectly. This is the result of a survey by the Lower Saxony state guild association of chimney sweeps, for which more than 5,300 owners and residents of single and multi-family houses were interviewed. According to district master chimney sweep Jürgen Schäfer, the owner is responsible for installation and maintenance.

What needs to be considered when installing and maintaining smoke detectors

Münden's district master chimney sweeps Jürgen Schäfer and Tobias Schäfer know what needs to be considered when purchasing, installing and maintaining them.

Purchasing

Smoke detectors can now be bought almost everywhere, whether online or in hardware stores. But not all are the same, says Jürgen Schäfer. When buying, you should pay attention to the CE mark, but above all to the designation "Q-Melder". Because CE marks could easily be forged. These detectors cost between 20 and 30 euros.

At first glance, this is expensive, but it would be worth it compared to the simple smoke detectors, where the battery usually has to be replaced every year. In addition, according to Schäfer, the "quality smoke detectors" often have real-time clocks. This means that the indicator light on the detector is not as bright at night. Chimney sweeps can also get the smoke detectors, say the two district master chimney sweeps. "Most of the time we always have some with us," says Jürgen Schäfer.

Installation

The owner can install the detectors himself or hire a professional, such as a chimney sweep, to do this.

Smoke detectors have to be in a certain position in the room in order to work properly, explains Jürgen Schäfer. Typically, they would be mounted on the ceiling in the center of the room, about 2 feet away from furniture and lamps. But that varies depending on the floor plan of the apartment. According to the Lower Saxony state building regulations, detectors must be installed in bedrooms, children's rooms and in all corridors or on escape routes to the outside.

During installation, the chimney sweep pays attention to where potential fire loads are, how the smoke would move in the event of a fire and how many detectors are required in a room. Because they can only cover a certain length, which is why two smoke detectors should often be installed, especially in long corridors, says Jürgen Schäfer. This is extremely important in the event of a fire, because if smoke detectors are installed incorrectly, they cannot warn in good time.

Maintenance

The tenant is responsible for checking that the smoke detectors are working properly. Maintenance can also be outsourced to external service providers.

However, the owner or landlord must document the maintenance by the tenant in writing in order to be able to prove that the smoke detectors have been checked regularly in the event of damage, says Jürgen Schäfer.

The test button can be used to check whether the detector is still working. "The manufacturer can check how often this button was triggered, should this be necessary after a case of damage."

Disposal

"Contrary to what many people think, a smoke detector does not belong in the household waste", says Jürgen Schäfer. Instead, they can be returned where they were bought. This is one of the reasons why the so-called Q detectors are more sustainable, as they only stop working after ten to twelve years. "With smoke detectors that run on 9 volt batteries, the batteries have to be replaced about once a year." That is more expensive in the long run and more waste is produced.

Mandatory?

Although smoke detectors are mandatory in residential areas in Lower Saxony, there is no public body that checks this, reports Jürgen Schäfer. If he notices that there are no detectors in an apartment, he can only point this out to people.

"It would make sense to be able to report that," says Tobias Schäfer. In any case, it is worth equipping your home with detectors because they are inexpensive, easy to install and save lives in an emergency. "Each household without a smoke detector is already one too many," says the district master chimney sweep. (By Natascha Terjung)

Schornsteinfeger warnen: Zu wenige Mündener Wohnungen sind mit Rauchmeldern ausgestattet

  • Heim
  • Weibliche Pflege
  • Schornsteinfeger warnen: Zu wenige Mündener Wohnungen sind mit Rauchmeldern ausgestattet
Schornsteinfeger warnen: Zu wenige Mündener Wohnungen sind mit Rauchmeldern ausgestattet
Images
  • Von deutschewhiskybrenner
  • 90 Ansichten

Rauchmelder sind schon seit Jahren Pflicht. Trotzdem haben viele Haushalte in Niedersachsen keine installiert. Auch in Hann. Münden ist das ähnlich, berichten Schornsteinfeger.

Hann.Münden – Rauchmelder in Wohnungen sind in Niedersachsen seit 2015 Pflicht. Trotzdem sind laut des niedersächsischen Landesinnungsverbandes der Schornsteinfeger 26 Prozent der niedersächsischen Haushalte ohne Rauchmelder. Das ergab eine Umfrage des Innungsverbandes aus dem Jahr 2020. „Das Ergebnis dieser Umfrage lässt sich eins zu eins auf Hann. Münden übertragen“, sagt Jürgen Schäfer, Bezirksschornsteinfegermeister für einen der drei Kehrbezirke in der Dreiflüssestadt.

Es gebe viele Vermieter, die sich um die Anbringung und Wartung von Rauchmeldern kümmerten, einige aber auch nicht. Vor allem ältere Menschen seien da oft gewissenhafter. Dabei seien Rauchmelder besonders in Wohnungen in der Mündener Innenstadt wichtig, denn durch die enge Bebauung und Brandlasten, die teilweise auf Dachböden oder Fluchtwegen lägen, könne es schnell zu großen Bränden kommen.

Rauchmelder können erhebliche Brandschäden verhindern

Wie verheerend es sein könne, keine zu haben, werde den meisten Menschen erst klar, wenn wegen eines Brandes erhebliche Schäden enstehen – oder noch schlimmer: Personen verletzt werden. „In vielen Fällen hätte ein Rauchmelder den Schaden vermindern können“, sagt Schäfer. Dass die Melder in Kinder- und Schlafzimmern sowie in Fluren und auf Fluchtwegen angebracht werden müssten, sei daher kein Zufall.

Besonders nachts habe man bei einem Brand aufgrund der Rauchentwicklung oft nur Sekunden, um nach draußen zu gelangen. „Bei einem Brand entsteht Kohlenmonoxid. Da reichen drei Atemzüge, damit der Körper schwer wird.“ Die Warnung durch den Rauchmelder erhöhe die Zeitspanne zur Flucht, so Schäfer.

Tobias Schäfer, ebenfalls Bezirksschornsteinfegermeister für einen anderen Kehrbezirk in Münden, erlebt ähnliches: „Viele bringen Rauchmelder an, machen es aber oft falsch.“ Sie müssten in der Mitte des Raumes angebracht werden. Zudem gebe es Unterschiede bei den Modellen. Dabei gelte es, genormte Melder zu verwenden, die etwa zehn Jahre halten, ohne dass die Batterie gewechselt werden muss.

Eigentümer stehen in der Pflicht

In Niedersachsen sind etwa 13 Prozent aller Haushalte ausreichend mit Rauchmeldern ausgestattet, 16 Prozent haben sie falsch installiert. Das geht aus der Erhebung des niedersächsischen Landesinnungsverbandes der Schornsteinfeger hervor, wofür mehr als 5300 Eigentümer und Bewohner von Ein- und Mehrfamilienhäusern befragt worden sind. Für die Anbringung und Wartung ist laut Bezirksschornsteinfegermeister Jürgen Schäfer der Eigentümer verantwortlich.

Was bei der Installation und der Wartung von Rauchmeldern zu beachten ist

Was bei der Beschaffung, der Installation und der Wartung zu beachten ist, wissen Mündens Bezirksschornsteinfegermeister Jürgen Schäfer und Tobias Schäfer.

Anschaffung

Rauchmelder gibt es mittlerweile fast überall zu kaufen, ob online oder im Baumarkt. Doch nicht alle sind gleich, sagt Jürgen Schäfer. Beim Kauf sollte man auf das CE-Zeichen, vor allem aber auf die Bezeichnung „Q-Melder“ achten. Denn CE-Zeichen könnten einfach gefälscht werden. Diese Melder kosten zwischen 20 und 30 Euro.

Auf den ersten Blick sei das teuer, würde sich aber im Vergleich zu den einfachen Rauchmeldern, bei denen meistens jährlich die Batterie ausgewechselt werden müsse, rentieren. Zudem hätten die „Qualitäts-Rauchmelder“, so Schäfer, oft Echtzeituhren. Das bedeute, dass die Kontrollleuchte am Melder nachts nicht so hell leuchtet. Auch Schornsteinfeger können die Rauchmelder besorgen, sagen die beiden Bezirksschornsteinfegermeister. „Meistens haben wir immer welche dabei“, so Jürgen Schäfer.

Installation

Der Eigentümer kann die Melder selbst anbringen oder einen Fachmann, wie den Schornsteinfeger, damit beauftragen.

Rauchmelder müssen an einer bestimmten Position im Raum hängen, um richtig zu funktionieren, erklärt Jürgen Schäfer. In der Regel würden sie in der Mitte des Raumes an der Decke befestigt, etwa 60 Zentimeter entfernt von Möbelstücken und Lampen. Doch das variiere je nach Grundriss der Wohnung. Laut der niedersächsischen Landesbauordnung müssen in Schlafzimmern, Kinderzimmern und in allen Fluren beziehungsweise auf Rettungswegen ins Freie Melder angebracht werden.

Der Schornsteinfeger achte bei der Installation darauf, wo potenzielle Brandlasten seien, wie sich der Rauch bei einem Brand bewegen würde und wie viele Melder in einem Raum benötigt werden. Denn sie können nur eine bestimmte Länge abdecken, weshalb vor allem in langen Fluren oft zwei Rauchmelder angebracht werden sollten, meint Jürgen Schäfer. Das sei im Brandfall enorm wichtig, denn seien Rauchmelder falsch installiert, könnten sie nicht rechtzeitig warnen.

Wartung

Für die Prüfung der einwandfreien Funktion der Rauchmelder ist der Mieter, im selbst genutzten Wohnraum der Eigentümer, zuständig. Die Wartung könne auch an externe Dienstleister übertragen werden.

Allerdings muss der Eigentümer beziehungsweise der Vermieter die Wartung durch den Mieter schriftlich dokumentieren, um im Schadensfall eine regelmäßige Prüfung der Rauchmelder nachweisen zu können, so Jürgen Schäfer.

Ob der Melder noch funktioniere, lasse sich über die Test-Taste prüfen. „Wie oft diese Taste ausgelöst wurde, kann der Hersteller, sollte es nach einem Schadensfall nötig sein, überprüfen.“

Entsorgung

„Entgegen der Auffassung vieler Menschen gehört ein Rauchmelder nicht in den Hausmüll“, sagt Jürgen Schäfer. Stattdessen könnten sie dort zurückgegeben werden, wo sie gekauft worden seien. Auch deshalb seien die sogenannten Q-Melder nachhaltiger, da sie erst nach zehn bis zwölf Jahren nicht mehr funktionieren. „Bei Rauchmeldern, die mit 9 Volt Batterien laufen, müssen etwa einmal im Jahr die Batterien erneuert werden.“ Das sei auf die Dauer teurer und es entstehe mehr Abfall.

Meldepflicht?

Obwohl Rauchmelder im Wohnbereich in Niedersachsen Pflicht sind, gibt es keine öffentliche Stelle, die das überprüft, berichtet Jürgen Schäfer. Bemerke er, dass in einer Wohnung Melder fehlten, könne er die Menschen nur darauf hinweisen.

„Das melden zu können, wäre aber sinnvoll“, meint Tobias Schäfer. In jedem Fall lohne es sich, seine Wohnung mit Meldern auszustatten, denn sie seien kostengünstig, einfach zu installieren und retten im Ernstfall Leben. „Jeder Haushalt ohne Rauchmelder ist schon einer zu viel“, meint der Bezirksschornsteinfegermeister. (Von Natascha Terjung)