Car guide: air conditioning not maintained-compressor gone?The AGVS

  • Home
  • Female care
  • Car guide: air conditioning not maintained-compressor gone?The AGVS
Car guide: air conditioning not maintained-compressor gone?The AGVS
Images
  • By deutschewhiskybrenner
  • 578 Views
Published

The air conditioner in John's car broke down after he left it unattended for a long time. What is the reason?

by
Markus Peter, AGVS
< h3>Question from John to the AGVS expert team:

I was a bit careless with the maintenance of my car air conditioning. When it stopped cooling, I drove to the workshop. It was found there that there was no more coolant in the system. I was told that the compressor might now be damaged. is this correct?

Answer from the AGVS:

Dear John

Thank you for your question. This can be very annoying for you in the summer temperatures. For me, it is a nice through ball to once again point out the importance of regular maintenance. It makes sense for an air conditioner for a number of reasons.

Auto advisor: air conditioning not serviced – Compressor gone? The AGVS

Regular maintenance maintains the performance of the air conditioning system. This means that the system cools really well and extracts moisture from the air. This is not only important in midsummer, it is also useful at lower temperatures. For example, a fogged-up window can be made “transparent” again as quickly as possible.

Furthermore, dirt accumulates over time on the air conditioning filter and evaporator: bacteria, mold or plant spores. Regular maintenance of the air conditioning system is also recommended to prevent this undesirable and sometimes even harmful dirt from getting into the vehicle interior.

The heart (piece) is the compressor. It contains moving parts that need to be lubricated so that the compressor is not damaged. The oil used for lubrication is added to the refrigerant and is therefore also transported via the refrigerant. If there is no refrigerant, the oil can no longer be transported and the compressor can be damaged. Depending on the type of refrigerant leak (either gradual in the form of "evaporation" or, for example, due to a rupture in a hose), the refrigerant escapes alone or together with the oil. I strongly suspect that such a refrigerant leak is the reason why your car's air conditioning went out.

AGVS is the association of Swiss garage owners. 4,000 companies with 39,000 employees (including 9,000 trainees and trainees) ensure that we are safe, reliable and energy-efficient on the road. And this team of experts provides perspective: Markus Aegerter (trade and services), Olivier Maeder (education), Markus Peter (technology and environment) and AGVS lawyer Olivia Solari (law).

If the compressor has been damaged or is imminent, metal chips usually get into the air conditioning circuit and damage other components such as the expansion valve, throttle, evaporator or condenser. In such cases, the system should definitely be cleaned (this is referred to as flushing the air conditioning system). There are also corresponding small and fine protective screens that are used in a suitable place to keep the metal chips away from the other components.

Caution: There are different refrigerants and refrigerant oils to be mixed with the refrigerant on the market. Air conditioning service and repairs therefore belong in the hands of professionals.

Have a good trip!

Send your question(s) to autoratgeber@20minuten.ch. We publish the most interesting and up-to-date questions and of course the answers every Wednesday under the first name of the questioner here in the Autochannel on 20min.ch.

Auto-Ratgeber: Klimaanlage nicht gewartet – Kompressor futsch? Der AGVS

Auto-Ratgeber: Klimaanlage nicht gewartet – Kompressor futsch? Der AGVS
Images
  • Von deutschewhiskybrenner
  • 551 Ansichten
Publiziert

Die Klimaanlage in Johns Auto ist ausgefallen, nachdem er sie länger nicht warten liess. Was ist der Grund?

von
Markus Peter, AGVS

Frage von John ans AGVS-Expertenteam:

Ich war ein bisschen nachlässig mit der Wartung meiner Auto Klimaanlage. Als sie nicht mehr kühlte, bin ich in die Werkstatt gefahren. Dort hat man festgestellt, dass kein Kühlmittel mehr im System war. Man teilte mir mit, dass der Kompressor jetzt vielleicht einen Schaden hat. Stimmt dies?

Antwort des AGVS:

Lieber John

Vielen Dank für deine Frage. Für dich mag das bei den sommerlichen Temperaturen sehr ärgerlich sein. Für mich ist sie ein schöner Steilpass, wieder einmal auf die Wichtigkeit der regelmässigen Wartung hinzuweisen. Bei einer Klimaanlage ist sie aus verschiedenen Gründen sinnvoll.

Auto-Ratgeber: Klimaanlage nicht gewartet – Kompressor futsch? Der AGVS

Eine regelmässige Wartung erhält die Leistungsfähigkeit der Klimaanlage. Das heisst, die Anlage kühlt richtig gut und entzieht der Luft Feuchtigkeit. Das ist nicht nur im Hochsommer wichtig, es ist auch bei tieferen Temperaturen nützlich. So kann beispielsweise eine beschlagene Scheibe möglichst schnell wieder «durchsichtig» gemacht werden.

Ausserdem sammelt sich im Laufe der Zeit am Filter und am Verdampfer der Klimaanlage einiges an Verschmutzung an: Bakterien, Schimmel oder Pflanzensporen. Damit diese unerwünschten und teilweise sogar gesundheitsschädlichen Verschmutzungen nicht in den Fahrzeuginnenraum gelangen, empfiehlt sich ebenfalls eine regelmässige Wartung der Klimaanlage.

Deren Herz(stück) ist der Kompressor. Darin befinden sich bewegliche Teile, die geschmiert werden wollen, damit der Kompressor keinen Schaden nimmt. Das zur Schmierung verwendete Öl wird dem Kältemittel beigemischt und daher auch via Kältemittel transportiert. Fehlt Kältemittel, kann der Transport des Öls nicht mehr sichergestellt werden und der Kompressor kann Schaden nehmen. Je nach Art des Kältemittellecks (entweder nur schleichend in Form von «Verdunstung» oder beispielsweise durch einen Riss in einem Schlauch) entweicht das Kältemittel allein oder zusammen mit dem Öl. Ich gehe sehr davon aus, dass ein solches Kältemittelleck der Grund ist, wieso die Klimaanlage deines Autos ausgestiegen ist.

Der AGVS ist der Verband der Schweizer Garagisten. 4000 Betriebe mit 39'000 Mitarbeitenden (darunter 9000 Nachwuchskräfte in Aus- und Weiterbildung) sorgen dafür, dass wir sicher, zuverlässig und energieeffizient unterwegs sind. Und dieses Expertenteam sorgt für Durchblick: Markus Aegerter (Handel und Dienstleistungen), Olivier Maeder (Bildung), Markus Peter (Technik und Umwelt) und AGVS-Juristin Olivia Solari (Recht).

Gab es einen Schaden am Kompressor oder steht dieser unmittelbar bevor, so gelangen meistens Metallspäne in den Klimaanlagen-Kreislauf und beschädigen weitere Bauteile wie zum Beispiel Expansionsventil, Drossel, Verdampfer oder Kondensator. In solchen Fällen sollte das System unbedingt gereinigt (man spricht dabei von der Spülung der Klimaanlage) werden. Es gibt auch entsprechende kleine und feine Schutzsiebe, die an einer passenden Stelle eingesetzt werden, um die Metallspäne von den weiteren Bauteilen fernzuhalten.

Achtung: Es gibt auf dem Markt unterschiedliche Kältemittel und dem Kältemittel beizumischende Kältemittelöle. Klimaanlagenservice und -reparatur gehören deshalb in die Hände von Profis.

Gute Fahrt!

Sende deine Frage(n) einfach per Mail an autoratgeber@20minuten.ch. Die interessantesten und aktuellsten Fragen und natürlich die Antworten publizieren wir jeden Mittwoch unter dem Vornamen des Fragenden hier im Autochannel auf 20min.ch.