Pharma - 38 percent price increase: Corona drug primarily raises Molecular Partners on the stock exchange

  • Home
  • recommended
  • Pharma - 38 percent price increase: Corona drug primarily raises Molecular Partners on the stock exchange
Pharma - 38 percent price increase: Corona drug primarily raises Molecular Partners on the stock exchange
Images
  • By deutschewhiskybrenner
  • 465 Views

Molecular Partners stock is up 38.2 percent in morning trade by midday. After the start of trading, when the price was already 26 percent higher, the price increased significantly.

Since a low point in mid-November 2016, when study goals were not achieved with the product candidate Ensovibep, the price has risen by almost two thirds. Good results have now been achieved with Ensovipep in a phase II study.

It is one of several drugs from the pharmaceutical and biotech industry that are intended to treat diseases with the coronavirus. The pharmaceutical company Novartis now intends to exercise the option to in-license Ensovibep and push for approval in the USA. Molecular Partners achieves milestone figure of 150 million Swiss francs through Novartis. There is an opportunity for Novartis to market a corona therapeutic.

The price of Molecular Partners since the beginning of 2021 (Graphic: cash.ch.)

In the study, which is now mainly increasing the Molecular Partners course (Novartis is meanwhile increasing by 0.8 percent), Ensovibep doses and placebo were assigned to outpatient corona patients. The drug achieved a 78 percent reduction in hospitalization and death compared to placebo. There were two deaths among the 99 placebo patients and none among the 301 Ensovibep patients.

Pharma - 38 percent price increase: Corona Drug lifts Molecular Partners in particular on the stock exchange

Ensovibep may work against variants such as Omicron. The Zürcher Kantonalbank, which analyzed the study for the Novatis share, writes: "For Ensovibep we do not yet have any estimates in our Novartis model; this news, while positive, is based on the fair discounted cash flow value (.. .) have little effect." However, there is a good chance that Ensovibep could generate sales of several hundred million in certain years due to new variants. Government stockpiling is also to be expected. "We consider the in-licensing to be sensible."

Buy recommendation for Novartis

Novartis has meanwhile received a buy recommendation from Citigroup. Analyst Andrew Baum sets the price target at 95 francs. The share is currently trading at CHF 82.37.

Baum does not focus on the cooperation with Molecular Partners, but on the potential for a "short-term commitment" by activists. The recent divestment of Roche's stake and the announced strategic review of Sandoz have only slightly reduced Novartis' vulnerability to potential activism.

Regarding the recently approved cholesterol-lowering drug Leqvio, Baum believes that sales for the drug should ultimately be well above the current consensus. He expects $2.7 billion in sales, while the consensus is $1.8 billion.

(cash/Bloomberg)

Pharma - 38 Prozent Kursplus: Corona-Medikament hebt vor allem Molecular Partners an der Börse

  • Heim
  • empfohlen
  • Pharma - 38 Prozent Kursplus: Corona-Medikament hebt vor allem Molecular Partners an der Börse
Pharma - 38 Prozent Kursplus: Corona-Medikament hebt vor allem Molecular Partners an der Börse
Images
  • Von deutschewhiskybrenner
  • 417 Ansichten

Die Aktie von Molecular Partners notiert im Vormittagshandel gegen Mittag hin um 38,2 Prozent höher. Nach dem Handelsbeginn, als der Kurs bereits um 26 Prozent höher lag, hat der Kurs noch deutlich zugelegt.

Seit einem Tiefpunkt Mitte November 2016, als mit dem Produktkandidaten Ensovibep Studienziele nicht erreicht wurden, hat der Kurs um fast zwei Drittel zugelegt. Nun sind mit Ensovipep in einer Phase-II-Studie gute Resultate erreicht worden.

Es handelt sich um einen von mehreren Mitteln aus der Pharma- und Biotechindustrie, mit denen Erkrankungen mit dem Coronavirus behandelt werden sollen. Der Pharmakonzern Novartis will nun die Option zur Einlizensierung von Ensovibep ausüben und eine Zulassung in den USA vorantreiben. Molecular Partners kommt zu einer Meilensteinzahlen von 150 Millionen Franken durch Novartis. Für Novartis besteht die Chance auf die Vermarktung eines Corona-Therapeutikums.

Der Kurs von Molecular Partners seit Anfang 2021 (Grafik: cash.ch.)

Bei der Studie, die nun vor allem den Molecular-Partners-Kurs ansteigen lässt (Novartis legt derweil um 0,8 Prozent zu), wurden Ensovibep-Dosen sowie Placebo bei ambulanten Corona-Patienten berteilt. Bezüglich Hospitalisierung und Tod erreichte das Mittel gegenüber dem Placebo eine Reduktion um 78 Prozent. Bei den 99 Placebo-Patienten kam es zu zwei, bei den 301 Ensovibep-Patienten zu keinem Todesfall.

Pharma - 38 Prozent Kursplus: Corona-Medikament hebt vor allem Molecular Partners an der Börse

Ensovibep kann möglicherweise gegen Varianten wie Omicron wirken. Die Zürcher Kantonalbank, welche die Studie für die Novatis-Aktie analysiert hat, schreibt: "Für Ensovibep haben wir noch keine Schätzungen in unserem Novartis-Modell; diese Nachricht ist zwar positiv, wird aber auf den fairen Dicounted-Cashflow-Wert (...) wenig Auswirkung haben." Es bestehe aber eine gute Chance, dass Ensovibep wegen neuen Varianten in bestimmten Jahren vielleicht einen Umsatz von mehreren Hundert Mio generieren könne. Auch Bevorratung durch Regierungen sei zu erwarten. "Die Einlizensierung erachten wir als sinnvoll."

Kauf-Empfehlung für Novartis

Novartis hat unterdessen eine Kauf-Empfehlung von der Citigroup erhalten. Analyst Andrew Baum legt das Kursziel bei 95 Franken fest. Aktuell handelt die Aktie für 82,37 Franken.

Baum stellt allerdings nicht auf die Zusammenarbeit mit Molecular Partners ab, sondern sie Potential wegen eines "kurzfristigen Engagements" von Aktivisten. Die jüngste Veräusserung der Roche-Beteiligung und die angekündigte strategische Überprüfung von Sandoz hätten die Anfälligkeit von Novartis für potenziellen Aktivismus nur geringfügig verringert.

Mit Blick auf den kürzlich zugelassenen Cholesterin-Senker Leqvio meint Baum, dass der Umsatz für das Mittel letztlich deutlich über dem aktuellen Konsens liegen dürfte. Er rechnet mit 2,7 Milliarden Dollar Umsatz, während der Konsens von 1,8 Milliardeen spricht.

(cash/Bloomberg)