Maintal is becoming a smart city thanks to new WiFi hotspots

  • Home
  • Female care
  • Maintal is becoming a smart city thanks to new WiFi hotspots
Maintal is becoming a smart city thanks to new WiFi hotspots
Images
  • By deutschewhiskybrenner
  • 698 Views
15,000 euros in EU funding

Maintal is becoming a smart city thanks to new WiFi hotspots

Photo: City of Maintal"> Thursday, February 10th, 2022

MAINTAL/GELNHAUSEN - Fast and free access to the Internet, comprehensive and barrier-free use of the city's digital services via smartphone or laptop - this is no longer a problem for the citizens and guests of Maintal thanks to the latest WLAN technology. In Maintal, WLAN is now available in many municipal facilities as well as at heavily frequented outdoor locations. The digital hotspots are wireless Internet access points that were installed by Chilinet Solutions from Gelnhausen.

“Barrier-free Internet access for everyone is simply a must in public spaces today. With the free WLAN hotspots in the city area, we offer a further building block on the way to the Smart City in addition to the fiber optic expansion. This increases the attractiveness and also supports local trade and gastronomy and means more flexibility and additional comfort for the citizens", Maintal's mayor Monika Böttcher is convinced. She sees WLAN hotspots in public spaces as an indispensable addition to making services available online around the clock, seven days a week and facilitating mobile access to digital services.

Maintal wird durch neue WLAN-Hotspots zur Smart City

There are also numerous advantages for the city administration: Since internal processes are designed to be more efficient and less error-prone online, this saves time and resources and increases the service quality of the administration. For the equipment, Maintal used the WiFi4EU funding pot of the European Union, which is available to all cities and municipalities in Europe. The EU funding amounts to 15,000 euros, which will be used to build the infrastructure.

Cooperation with WLAN startup from Gelnhausen

Chilinet Solutions provided the technology and infrastructure on behalf of the city of Maintal. The locations were selected by the city administration. In addition to procuring the hardware and installing it, the Gelnhausen start-up also takes care of checking and maintaining the hotspots. Chilinet Managing Director Stefan Luther sees progress in WiFi coverage in Germany, but still a lot of need for action: “Maintal is an exemplary example of the transformation into a smart city. Nevertheless, Germany is still far behind when it comes to WiFi coverage. However, citizens now expect easy and problem-free access to the Internet in as many places and in public spaces as possible. Municipal WLAN networks will therefore meet with great demand in the future and contribute to the attractiveness of cities, municipalities and communities."

His company is a partner authorized by the European Commission for the construction of WLAN networks in connection with the WiFi4EU funding program and creates nationwide planning and implementation concepts for interested municipalities. In addition to the planning and professional installation of the hotspots, the start-up's scope of services also includes complete maintenance.

Thanks to the cooperation, the "Smart City" Maintal now has almost nationwide WLAN. There were already ten locations through the “WLAN für Hessen” program. By participating in the EU program WIFI4EU, another ten locations have now been added: the Dörnigheim bus station, the area around the children and youth center in Bischofsheim, the area around the children's club and bonus meeting place in Ascher Straße, the Schillerstraße family center, the Käthe-Jonas-Platz, the meeting house in Klingstraße 4, the Maintal town hall, the outside area of ​​the Wachenbuchen community center in the area of ​​the beer garden, and the area in front of the Maintal hall. A tenth location on the banks of the Main will soon be open to the public. (pm)

Maintal wird durch neue WLAN-Hotspots zur Smart City

Maintal wird durch neue WLAN-Hotspots zur Smart City
Images
  • Von deutschewhiskybrenner
  • 696 Ansichten
15.000 Euro Fördermittel der EU

Maintal wird durch neue WLAN-Hotspots zur Smart City

Foto: Stadt Maintal"> Donnerstag, 10.02.2022

MAINTAL/GELNHAUSEN - Schneller und kostenfreier Zugang ins Internet, flächendeckende und barrierefreie Nutzung der digitalen Services der Stadt via Smartphone oder Laptop - für die Bürgerinnen und Bürger sowie Gäste von Maintal ist das dank modernster WLAN-Technik kein Problem mehr. In Maintal steht WLAN nun in vielen städtischen Einrichtungen sowie an stark frequentierten Standorten im Außenbereich zur Verfügung. Die digitalen Hotspots sind kabellose Internetzugangspunkte, die von der Firma Chilinet Solutions aus Gelnhausen installiert wurden.

„Ein barrierefreier Internetzugang für alle gehört heute im öffentlichen Raum einfach dazu. Mit den kostenfreien WLAN-Hotspots im Stadtgebiet bieten wir neben dem Glasfaserausbau einen weiteren Baustein auf dem Weg zur Smart City. Das erhöht die Attraktivität und unterstützt auch den lokalen Handel sowie die Gastronomie und bedeutet für die Bürger mehr Flexibilität und zusätzlichen Komfort“, ist Maintals Bürgermeisterin Monika Böttcher überzeugt. Sie sieht in den WLAN-Hotspots im öffentlichen Raum eine unverzichtbare Ergänzung, um Dienstleistungen online und rund um die Uhr an sieben Tagen in der Woche verfügbar zu machen und den mobilen Zugang zu digitalen Angeboten zu erleichtern.

Maintal wird durch neue WLAN-Hotspots zur Smart City

Auch für die Stadtverwaltung ergeben sich zahlreiche Vorteile: Da interne Abläufe online effizienter und weniger fehleranfällig gestaltet werden, spart dies Zeit und Ressourcen und erhöht die Dienstleistungsqualität der Verwaltung. Für die Ausstattung nutzte Maintal den Fördertopf WiFi4EU der Europäischen Union, der allen Städten und Kommunen innerhalb Europas zur Verfügung steht. Die EU-Förderung beträgt 15.000 Euro, die für den Aufbau der Infrastruktur genutzt werden.

Kooperation mit WLAN-Startup aus Gelnhausen

Chilinet Solutions hat im Auftrag der Stadt Maintal die Bereitstellung der Technik und Infrastruktur übernommen. Die Auswahl der Standorte erfolgte durch die Stadtverwaltung. Das Gelnhausener Start-up kümmert sich neben der Beschaffung der Hardware und Installation auch um die Überprüfung und Wartung der Hotspots. Chilinet-Geschäftsführer Stefan Luther sieht bei der WLAN-Versorgung in Deutschland zwar Fortschritte, aber weiterhin noch viel Handlungsbedarf: „Maintal ist ein vorbildliches Beispiel für die Transformation zu einer Smart City. Dennoch ist Deutschland beim Thema WLAN-Versorgung weltweit noch immer weit hinten. Die Bürgerinnen und Bürger erwarten mittlerweile aber einen einfachen und problemlosen Zugang ins Internet an möglichst vielen Orten und in öffentlichen Räumen. Kommunale WLAN-Netze werden in Zukunft daher auf große Nachfrage stoßen und zur Attraktivität von Städten, Kommunen und Gemeinden beitragen.“

Sein Unternehmen ist ein von der Europäischen Kommission autorisierter Partner beim Aufbau von WLAN-Netzen im Zusammenhang mit dem Förderprogramm WiFi4EU und erstellt bundesweit Planungs- und Umsetzungskonzepte für interessierte Kommunen. Neben der Planung und fachgerechten Installation der Hotspots gehört auch die komplette Wartung zum Leistungsumfang des Start-ups.

Dank der Zusammenarbeit verfügt die „Smart City“ Maintal inzwischen über ein nahezu flächendeckendes WLAN. Über das Programm „WLAN für Hessen“ gab es bereits zehn Standorte. Durch die Teilnahme am EU-Programm WIFI4EU sind jetzt weitere zehn Standorte hinzugekommen: der Busbahnhof Dörnigheim, der Bereich rund um das Kinder- und Jugendhaus in Bischofsheim, der Bereich rund um den Kinderclub und Bonis Treff in der Ascher Straße, das Familienzentrum Schillerstraße, der Käthe-Jonas-Platz, das Begegnungshaus in der Klingstraße 4, das Maintaler Rathaus, der Außenbereich des Bürgerhauses Wachenbuchen im Bereich des Biergartens, sowie der Bereich vor der Maintal-Halle. Ein zehnter Standort am Mainufer wird in Kürze für die Öffentlichkeit freigeschaltet. (pm)